artists

Leif Berger

Drummer – NICA Artist since 2020
Leif Berger by Patrick Essex
Leif Berger by Patrick Essex

Born in 1995 in Münster, Leif has been a musician since he received his first drum set in 1997. Several stations later (Lego, “Age of Empires”, Skateboarding, etc.), he decided to dedicate his life to this passion and moved to Cologne. Here he learned things like improvisation, friendship, taking his dreams seriously, listening, and plays in many bands. Today he also calls himself composer, pianist, keyboardist, percussionist, bandleader, and teacher. His music can be found on Bandcamp. The 25+ albums that he has played on can also be found on the internet.

Here is a list of a few people/bands Leif has enjoyed playing with: Ben Monder, Alexander Dawo, SALOMEA, Achim Kaufmann, Harriet Maria & Peter Meining, Felix Hauptmann, Robert Landfermann, delusional mind, DJ Illvibe, Elias Stemeseder, Shubangi, Ole Hübner, Ben Bönniger, Pablo Held, Simon Nabatov, AzudemSK, Moritz Wesp, Totenhagen, Jannis Sicker, Seamus Blake, Rudi Mahall, Scott Robinson, Wanja Slavin, Jonas Burgwinkel, Sebastian Gille, etc.

Concert tours have taken him throughout Europe, but also beyond its borders, and to festivals such as Jazzfest Bonn, moers festival, c/o Pop, Jazzablanca and KLAENG. Leif received the Claas-Willeke Soloist Prize (HfM Jazzpreis Saar 2015), a scholarship by the Werner Richard, Dr. Carl Dörken Foundation (2016, with SALOMEA) and was a finalist for the New German Jazz Prize (2018, with SALOMEA).


Read more

artists

Leif Berger

Schlagzeuger – NICA Artist seit 2020
Leif Berger by Patrick Essex

Leif Berger, geboren 1995 in Münster, ist Musiker, seit er 1997 sein erstes Schlagzeug bekommen hat. Einige Stationen später (LEGO, »Age of Empires«, Skateboarding etc.), entscheidet er sich dieser Leidenschaft sein Leben zu widmen. Er zieht nach Köln, lernt hier Dinge wie Improvisation, Freundschaft, seine Träume ernst zu nehmen, zuzuhören, und spielt in vielen Bands. Heute nennt er sich auch Komponist, Pianist, Keyboarder, Percussionist, Bandleader und Lehrer. Auf Bandcamp kann man seine Musik hören. Die mehr als 25 Alben, auf denen er mitgespielt hat, sind auch größtenteils im Internet zu finden. 

Hier eine kleine Auswahl an Personen/Bands, mit denen Leif zusammenarbeiten durfte:

Ben Monder, Alexander Dawo, SALOMEA, Achim Kaufmann, Harriet Maria & Peter Meining, Felix Hauptmann, Robert Landfermann, delusional mind, Doug Weiss, DJ Illvibe, Elias Stemeseder, Shubangi, Ole Hübner, Ben Bönniger, Pablo Held, Simon Nabatov, AzudemSK, Moritz Wesp, Totenhagen, Jannis Sicker, Seamus Blake, Rudi Mahall, Scott Robinson, Wanja Slavin, Jonas Burgwinkel, Sebastian Gille etc. 

Konzertreisen führten ihn durch ganz Europa, und auch über die europäischen Grenzen hinaus, sowie auf Festivals wie Jazzfest Bonn,moers festivalc/o Pop, Jazzablanca und KLAENG. Leif war Empfänger des Claas-Willeke Solistenpreis (HfM Jazzpreis Saar 2015), Stipendiat der Werner Richard, Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung (2016, mit SALOMEA), Finalist des Neuen Deutschen Jazzpreis (2018, mit SALOMEA) und unterrichtet seit 2018 Jazz-Schlagzeug am IfM der Hochschule Osnabrück.

Mehr erfahren