artists

Heidi Bayer

trumpeter – NICA Artist since 2020
Heidi Bayer by Franka Hils

Sound and Search

Peter and the Wolf was what got her into music, Heidi Bayer once told a journalist. The delicate and yet powerful sound of the oboe had made her curious. She was nine years old at the time, and at the music school in Kulmbach in the German area of Upper Franconia, the oboe was not part of the school curriculum. So she first started learning the clarinet, classically, until she found her way to jazz and the trumpet at the school big band.

After graduating from high school, Heidi Bayer, born in 1987, first completed a bachelor’s degree in cultural management in Marburg before finally enrolling in the study of jazz and popular music in Mainz. During an exchange semester in Miami, she came to understand that the appeal of music for her wasn’t limited to the technical virtuosity of its execution, nor to the ability to perfectly reproduce existing patterns and variations. Instead of incessantly reproducing the licks of the great masters, she began to search for formulations and inflections which would take her to create her very own sound.

Heidi chose Cologne as her new home and became involved in the diverse Cologne scene. She was present at countless sessions and in demand with various large and small bands, who always have a different way of interpreting the tension between freedom and structure. She’s doing her master’s degree in Jazz / Improvising Artist with Ryan Carniaux and Thomas Rückert at the Folkwangschule in Essen and is in demand as a stimulating instrumentalist who explores the sound of her trumpet in all its facets. Apart from her involvement in trumpet sets of big bands such as the »Subway Jazz Orchestra«, the »Hendrika Entzian Bigband« or the »Fuchsthone Orchestra«, she also performs in Janning Trumann’s nonet »Wem Zeit wie Ewigkeit«, Shannon Barnett’s quartet »Wolves and Mirrors«, Stefan Karl Schmid’s octet »Pyjama« or Sven Decker’s quartet »JULI«, to name a few. But she is increasingly focused on her own projects, the duo Bayer/Scobel with pianist Sebastian Scobel or her quartet »Virtual Leak«, whose debut CD was released in spring 2020. Heidi not only works as an instrumentalist, but increasingly so as bandleader, arranger, and composer, gaining access to a very wide range of sounds.

Read more

artists

Heidi Bayer

Trompeterin – NICA Artist seit 2020
Heidi Bayer by Franka Hils

Klang und Suche

Peter und der Wolf, so erzählte Heidi Bayer einmal einem Journalisten, stand für sie am Anfang. Der feine und doch durchsetzungsstarke Klang der Oboe hatte sie neugierig gemacht. Neun Jahre alt war sie damals, und in der Musikschule in Kulmbach in Oberfranken, waren Oboen nicht im Unterrichtsangebot vorgesehen. Also lernte sie erst einmal Klarinette, klassisch, bis sie in der Schul-Big Band den Weg zum Jazz und zur Trompete fand.

Nach dem Abitur absolvierte die 1987 geborene Heidi Bayer in Marburg zunächst ein Bachelorstudium im Bereich Kulturmanagement, bevor sie sich schließlich in Mainz im Fach Jazz und Popularmusik einschrieb. In einem Austauschsemester in Miami lernte sie sehr deutlich, dass der Reiz der Musik sich für sie nicht in der technischen Brillanz ihrer Ausführung erschöpft, nicht darin, bestehende Formen und Wendungen perfekt reproduzieren zu können. Statt unentwegt die Licks der großen Meister zu reproduzieren, forschte sie an Formulierungen und Wendungen, die den Klang ausmachen, der ihr eigener ist.

Heidi Bayer wählte Köln als neue Wahlheimat und mischte sich ein in die vielfältige Szene, präsent auf unzähligen Sessions und gefragt bei diversen großen und kleinen Bands, die das Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Freiheit und Struktur immer wieder anders ausbuchstabieren. Sie ist im Masterstudiengang Jazz / Improvising Artist bei Ryan Carniaux und Thomas Rückert an der Folkwangschule in Essen. Außerdem ist sie gefragt als mitreißende Instrumentalistin, die den Klang ihrer Trompete in all seinen Facetten auslotet. Neben ihrem Engagement in den Trompetensätzen von Big Bands wie dem »Subway Jazz Orchestra«, der »Hendrika Entzian Bigband« oder dem »Fuchsthone Orchestra« spielt sie beispielsweise in Janning Trumanns Nonett »Wem Zeit wie Ewigkeit«, Shannon Barnetts Quartett »Wolves and Mirrors«, Stefan Karl Schmids Oktett »Pyjama« oder Sven Deckers Quartett »JULI«. Doch zunehmend fokussiert sie sich auf ihre eigenen Projekte, das Duo Bayer//Scobel mit dem Pianisten Sebastian Scobel oder ihr Quartett »Virtual Leak«, dessen Debüt-CD im Frühjahr 2020 erschienen ist. Nicht nur als Instrumentalistin, sondern zunehmend auch als Bandleaderin, Arrangeurin und Komponistin erarbeitet sich Heidi Bayer den Zugriff auf die ganz große Palette der Klänge.

Mehr erfahren